American Association for Emergency Psychiatry

AAEP Awards


AAEP Residents Award 2014


Congratulations to

Rachel Johnston Rodriguez, M.D.
Department of Psychiatry
University of Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT

AAEP Residents Award 2014


The American Association of Emergency Psychiatry (AAEP) is pleased to announce an award for residents demonstrating excellence in emergency psychiatry. Psychiatry residents at all levels of training are eligible for the award. Criteria for the award are expertise and excellence in emergency psychiatry as demonstrated by outstanding clinical skills, administrative responsibilities, and educational activities. Each residency program may nominate one resident for the award.

Eligibility: Applicants must be in good standing in an approved US/Canadian psychiatry residency training program. Each program may nominate one resident.
Prize: $250, plus paid expenses (two nights hotel and airfare) to attend the AAEP Spring meeting (New York City, May 3-7, 2014)
Criteria: Demonstrated interest and excellence in emergency and/or acute care psychiatry. Excellence may be in the area(s) of clinical work, research, administration or teaching.
Application Process: Program Directors should send entire packet to include 5 copies each of:
  • Resident’s CV
  • Resident’s essay on interest in emergency psychiatry
  • Letter of support from Department Chair/Program Director or designee
  • Letter of support from Psychiatry Emergency Director or designee
Due Date: All materials are due by March 1, 2014
Send to: AAEP Resident Award Selection Committee
PO Box 3948, Parker, CO 80134

Tel: 877-749-0737
Fax: 720-496-4974

Previous Winners

2013: Scott Alan Simpson MD MPH
Chrisantha E. Anandappa, M.D.
2011: Erick H. Cheung, MD, UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior
2010: Ashley Blackmon Jones, MD, University Specialty Clinics, Columbia, SC
2009: Neil Leibowitz, MD, JD, Long Island Jewish Med. Ctr.
2008: Marie-Eve Prayal-Pratte, MD, Dallhousie University Psychiatry Program
2007: Megan Moore-Brennan, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
2006: Nancy Byatt, DO, MBA, University of Massachusetts
2005: Carla D. Edwards, MD, McMaster University
2004: Andrew O. Skinner, MD, The Anderson Center
2003: Jennifer M. Park, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
2002: John S. Rozel, MD, Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic
2001: Robert M. Redondo, MD, University of Rochester's Comprehensive Psychiatric Emergency Program

AAEP Janssen Award 2004


Presented to


Michael H. Allen, MD, on Monday, May 3, 2004